Did you know Destination BC (DBC) has a Tourism Marketing Committee, which includes three members from each of BC’s six tourism regions?

Tourism Marketing Committee

Currently, the Thompson Okanagan is represented by Glenn Mandziuk, President & CEO, Thompson Okanagan Tourism Association; Chris Shauf, Director of Marketing & Communications, Tourism Kelowna; and Michael J. Ballingall, Senior Vice President, Big White Ski Resort. Michael J. also serves as Vice-Chairman of the committee.

A key role of the committee is to provide the organization's “CEO and Board with input on Destination BC’s tourism marketing strategies, tourism performance indicators, and with recommendations on how to encourage collaboration and joint funding marketing programs.”

DBC strives to keep the committee “fresh and vibrant,” so members may not serve on the committee for more than six years in total (terms are one, two or three years). To be selected for the committee, nominees must demonstrate several key characteristics, which include a willingness to collaborate, a depth of knowledge regarding tourism marketing and key issues within the industry, and a desire to provide a meaningful contribution.

To learn more about the Tourism Marketing Committee and to view its current members, click here.

For more information about Tourism Kelowna’s representation on the committee, contact Director of Marketing & Communications, Chris Shauf, at chris.shauf@tourismkelowna.com or at (250) 861-1515 ext. 203.